The Prophet Muhammad’s (pbuh) Sorrow

Bismillahir Rahmanir Raheem…

Abu Hurairah relates the following, “I was with Sayidina Umar on our way to the house of Sayidina Abu Bakar As-siddiq after ‘Isha prayers when we passed by the door of the Prophet (peace be upon him) and we heard sobs and cries from within. We stopped for a moment. We heard his voice (pbuh) crying: “Ahh…if only I could live to see what my people will do to their daily prayers. Ahh…I am truly disappointed by them”

“Oh Abu Hurairah, let us knock on the door”,  said Umar r.a. . Umar knocks on the door. “Who is that?” ‘Aisyah r.a. called out. “Abu Hurairah and I” replied ‘Umar. We sought permission to enter and she permitted. upon entering we saw the Prophet (pbuh) prostrating on the ground in grief, saying whilst in prostration: “O my Lord, thou art my Protector for my people therefore act on them with what suiteth thy Attribute (The Merciful) and don’t act on them with what suiteth their deeds”.

“O Messenger of Allah, my parents be ransom for thee, what has happened such that you have became terribly grieved?”

“O ‘Umar, on my way to ‘Aisyah house after praying in the mosque, Gabriel a.s. came and said, “O Muhammad! Allah sends His Salutations to you!”. After which he said, “Read!”

“What shall I read?”

“Read:

“But after them there followed a posterity who missed prayers and followed after lusts soon, then, will they face Destruction,” – 19:59

“O Gabriel, will my followers neglect their prayers after my demise?”, asked the Prophet pbuh.

“Yes, O Messenger of Allah, in the End Times a large group of your nation will neglect the ritual prayers, delay their prayers till the time for the prayer has expired and these follow their lusts/lowly desires. These are the ones to whom a dinar (a meagre amount of money) is more valuable than their prayers.”

-Excerpt from Solatul Muqorrrobin by Habib Hassan Bin Soleh Al-Jufri Al-Bahr

Leave a Reply

